Malaika Mihambo, Niklas Kaul and ski jumping team are athletes of the year

decathlon king Niklas Kaul and long jump world champion Malaika Mihambo are Germany's athletes of the year 2019. The two gold hopes for the Olympic Summer Games in Tokyo were awarded on Sunday evening as part of a festive gala in the Kurhaus in Baden-Baden. The team of ski jumpers won the team of the year award for the first time in 20 years.Kaul prevailed in a head-to-head race against Ironman world champion Jan Frodeno in the election of over 3000 members of the Association of German Sports Journalists (VDS) and succeeds triathlete Patrick Lange. Triple ski jumping world champion Markus Eisenbichler came third. The 21-year-old Kaul had crowned himself the youngest decathlon world champion in history with a furious pursuit.

With her victory for women, Mihambo made the first double success of the athletes perfect since 2013. For the 25-year-old, the successor to tennis star Angelique Kerber was the culmination of a perfect season without a single defeat. She not only won gold in the World Cup, but also made it over the magical seven-meter mark in seven competitions. "I look around and see almost only world and European champions," said Kaul visibly moved: "That's why it is it's a very strange feeling to be up here myself, but of course it's also a great honor. " Even Mihambo could hardly believe her luck: "I'm really happy. The award makes it all the more clear to me how exceptional my season was." Ironman World Champion Anne Haug and Gesa Felicitas Krause, third in the World Cup over 3000 m obstacle, Completed the podium with a clear gap. DSV eagles follow in the footsteps of the national ice hockey team, and the team of ski jumpers also won the award with a clear lead over the eighth oar and the tennis doubles Kevin Krawietz and Andreas Mies, who surprisingly won the French Open. DSV eagles Karl Geiger, Richard Freitag, Stephan Leyhe and Eisenbichler had won World Cup gold in the team competition for the first time since 2001 at the World Championships in Innsbruck with a lead of more than 30 meters and were rewarded with the successor to the national ice hockey team Top 5 of the 2019 election: athletes of the year: 1. Niklas Kaul (athletics) 1973 points2. Jan Frodeno (triathlon) 18923. Markus Eisenbichler (ski jumping) 11594. Florian Wellbrock (swimming) 7975. Eric Frenzel (Nordic combined) 650 athlete of the year: 1. Malaika Mihambo (athletics) 2281 points2. Anne Haug (triathlon) 14563. Gesa Felicitas Krause (athletics) 9944. Isabell Werth (riding) 5785. Nathalie Geisenberger (sledding) 570 Team of the year: 1. Team ski jumping men 1764 points2. Rowing figure eight 13963. Kevin Krawietz / Andreas Mies (tennis) 10064. Bob team Francesco Friedrich 5945. Team table tennis men 509

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *